Press "Enter" to skip to content

China Reopens Borders, Visa Channels to 36 European Countries


On August 10, The PRC Embassy in Denmark announced that China will allow eligible foreign nationals from 36 European countries to apply for new Chinese visas at any Chinese embassy or consulate within the stipulated countries.

To clarify, the announcement opens up travel from specific European countries both within the European Union (which has 27 member-states) and outside the EU.

What are the eligibility criteria for foreign nationals applying for Chinese visas?

  • Hold valid residence permit, including residence permit for work, residence permit for family reunion, or residence permit for personal matters.

Which European countries are on the list?

In alphabetical order, the following 36 European countries are on the list:

  • Albania, Austria
  • Belgium, Bulgaria, Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Czech Republic, Croatia, Cyprus
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland, France
  • Germany, Greece
  • Hungary
  • Iceland, Ireland, Italy
  • Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg
  • Malta, Montenegro
  • Netherlands, North Macedonia, Norway
  • Poland, Portugal
  • Romania
  • Serbia, Sweden, Switzerland, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain
  • United Kingdom

This is a significant development for foreign nationals who have been seeking entry into China.

Since March 28 this year, the Chinese government has suspended entry for most foreigners, including holders of valid visa or residence permits.

The exceptions to this travel ban have been few. For example, the Chinese government has facilitated visa applications of foreign nationals seeking entry into China for essential economic, trade, scientific, and technological activities or out of emergency humanitarian needs.

As per the Foreign Ministry Spokesperson Zhao Lijian: “Recently, as the situation has been brought under control in many countries, people are looking forward to making foreign trips.

Thus, China is relaxing in an orderly and gradual manner visa restrictions for foreigners entering China to resume economic activities and for other essential purposes. One more point to highlight is that for those who hold valid visa or residence permit but need visa renewal, Chinese embassies and consulates will provide them visa service for free.”

The new announcement reopening visa services for 36 European countries is the first sign that shows China is reversing the foreign national travel ban put into effect in late March when the coronavirus pandemic affected many countries. We now expect Chinese borders to open to increasingly more countries, likely to be based on their respective pandemic response.

However, no official announcement has been made by China’s Ministry of Foreign Affairs or any other EU embassy so far. We expect further information to be released and to have practical cases very soon.

China Briefing

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *