Press "Enter" to skip to content

Visa Requirements and Exemptions for Entry into Germany


Every year, Germany’s biggest and most popular cities attract millions of visitors from all over the world. Everyone from business travellers and cultural aficionados to shopaholics and party animals will find exactly what they’re looking for.


The main language is German, of course. However, you should be aware that there are many different regional accents and dialects, although High German is understood everywhere.

Many Germans also speak good English, so there should not be any language barriers for foreign visitors.


EU citizens do not require a visa. Citizens of all other countries will generally need a visa, with the exception of some countries for which the European Community has abolished the visa requirement. Nationals of those countries do not require a visa for visits to Germany lasting no longer than three months in a six-month period.

Entry requirements

To enter Germany you need a passport that is valid for at least fourth months from your date of arrival. For citizens of EU countries a valid identity card is sufficient.

Here’s a list of countries that requires entry visas and those that do not:

Country/ territorial community Entry visa required no/yes (1)
Afghanistan yes
Albania (5) no
Algeria yes
Andorra (4) no
Angola yes
Antigua and Barbuda no
Argentina no
Armenia yes
Austria (2) no
Australia (including the Cocos Islands, Norfolk Island, Christmas Island) (3) no
Azerbaijan yes
Bahamas no
Bahrain yes
Bangladesh yes
Barbados no
Belarus yes
Belgium (2) no
Belize yes
Benin yes
Bhutan yes
Bolivia yes
Bosnia and Herzegovina (5) no
Botswana yes
Brazil (4) no
Brunei Darussalam no
Bulgaria (2) no
Burkina Faso yes
Burundi yes
Cambodia yes
Cameroon yes
Canada (3) no
Cape Verde yes
Central African Republic yes
Chad yes
Chile no
China (People’s Republic) (6) yes
Colombia no
Comoros yes
Congo (Democratic Republic of the Congo) yes
Congo (Republic of the Congo) yes
Costa Rica no
Côte d’Ivoire (Ivory Coast) yes
Croatia no
Cuba yes
Cyprus (2) no
Czech Republic (2) no
Denmark (2) no
Djibouti yes
Dominica no
Dominican Republic yes
Ecuador yes
Egypt yes
El Salvador (4) no
Equatorial Guinea yes
Eritrea yes
Estonia (2) no
Ethiopia yes
Fiji yes
Finland (2) no
France (2)(including French Guyane, French Polynesia, Guadeloupe, Martinique, New Caledonia, Réunion, St Pierre and Miquelon) no
Gabon yes
Gambia yes
Georgia (5) no
Ghana yes
Greece (2) no
Grenada no
Guatemala no
Guinea yes
Guinea-Bissau yes
Guyana yes
Haiti yes
Honduras (4) no
Hong Kong (6) see China (People’s Republic)
Hungary (2) no
Iceland (3) no
India yes
Indonesia yes
Iran yes
Iraq yes
Ireland (2) no
Israel (3) no
Italy (2) no
Jamaica yes
Japan (3) no
Jordan yes
Kazakhstan yes
Kenya yes
Kiribati no
Korea (Republic of Korea, South Korea) (3) no
Korea (Democratic People’s Republic, North Korea) yes
Kosovo yes
Kuwait yes
Kyrgyzstan yes
Laos yes
Latvia (2) no
Lebanon yes
Lesotho yes
Liberia yes
Libya yes
Liechtenstein (2) no
Lithuania (2) no
Luxembourg (2) no
Macao (6) no
Macedonia (The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia) (5) no
Madagascar yes
Malawi yes
Malaysia no
Maldives yes
Mali yes
Malta (2) no
Marshall Islands no
Mauritania yes
Mauritius no
Mexico no
Micronesia no
Moldova (5) no
Monaco (4) no
Mongolia yes
Montenegro (5) no
Morocco yes
Mozambique yes
Myanmar (Burma) yes
Namibia yes
Nauru yes
Nepal yes
Netherlands (2) no
New Zealand (including the Cook Islands, Niue, Tokelau) (3) no
Nicaragua no
Niger yes
Nigeria yes
Norway (2) no
Oman yes
Pakistan yes
Palau no
Palestinian territories yes
Panama no
Papua New Guinea yes
Paraguay no
Peru no
Philippines yes
Poland (2) no
Portugal (2) no
Qatar yes
Romania (2) no
Russian Federation yes
Rwanda yes
Saint Kitts and Nevis no
Saint Lucia no
Saint Vincent and the Grenadines no
Samoa no
San Marino (4) no
São Tomé and Principe yes
Saudi Arabia yes
Senegal yes
Serbia (8) no
Seychelles no
Sierra Leone yes
Singapore no
Slovak Republic (2) no
Slovenia (2) no
Solomon Islands no
Somalia yes
South Africa yes
South Sudan yes
Spain (2) (including Spanish territories in North Africa with Ceuta and Melilla) no
Sri Lanka yes
Sudan yes
Suriname yes
Swaziland yes
Sweden (2) no
Switzerland (3) no
Syria yes
Taiwan (9) no
Tajikistan yes
Tanzania yes
Thailand yes
Timor-Leste (East Timor) no
Togo yes
Tonga no
Trinidad and Tobago no
Tunisia yes
Turkey yes
Turkmenistan yes
Tuvalu no
Uganda yes
Ukraine (5) no
United Arab Emirates no
United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland (2), (7) no
United States of America (including Virgin Islands of the United States, American Samoa, Guam, Puerto Rico) (3) no
Uruguay no
Uzbekistan yes
Vanuatu no
Vatican City no
Venezuela no
Viet Nam yes
Yemen yes
Zambia yes
Zimbabwe yes
1) Persons who do not require a visa to enter Germany (holders of passports from the countries marked “no” on the list) may not remain on German territory for more than 90 days in any six month period. Nor may they take up gainful employment whilst here.
2) Nationals of these states are not subject to the restrictions specified in footnote 1.
3) Residence permits (also for stays of more than 3 months) may be applied for after entering Germany without a visa.
4) Footnote 3 also applies provided gainful employment is not taken up.
5) The visa waiver applies only to holders of biometric passports.
6) The visa waiver applies to holders of SAR passports (Hong Kong and Macao Special Administrative Region passports).
7) The visa waiver also applies to British Nationals (Overseas).
8) The visa waiver applies only to holders of biometric passports (excluding holders of Serbian passports issued by the Serbian Coordination Directorate (in Serbian: Koordinaciona uprava)

9) The exemption from the visa requirement applies only to holders of passports issued by Taiwan which include an identity card number.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *