Press "Enter" to skip to content

South Africa introduces e-Visa Application


The South African Department of Home Affairs (DHA) has started with the testing and piloting of the electronic visa application system – e-Visa.

The decision to introduce e-Visa was informed by observable benefits of this system. It is reliable, client-friendly and convenient for visa applicants, airlines, trading partners and Home Affairs officials.

Once fully rolled-out, prospective visitors will apply online for visas, at home, office or place of work. It will lesson administrative burdens, including those involved in receiving applicants at visa offices, printing visa stickers and returning passports to applicants.

In early 2020, we’ll include China, India and Nigeria to the pilot which will run until March 2020, the DHA says.

Tunisia added to countries with Visa waivers

As part of our efforts to attract tourists to South Africa, we have added the Republic of Tunisia to the list of countries which enjoy visa free status to South Africa. This means that tourists from this country will come to South Africa without requiring a visa and South Africans can visit Tunisia without a visa as part of reciprocity. The implementation date of this agreement will be decided and communicated after the two countries have agreed on a date.

South Africa now has 83 countries which it has granted visa free status to. These countries are among the highest tourist sending nations globally.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *